A look at Warhammer 40,000: Regicide

regicide

A brief over view of how we thought Warhammer 40: Regicide played out!

I’d like to start by saying I’m both a pretty big Chess, and Warhammer 40k nerd (So you can tell this overview won’t be biased *wink *wink). If you didn’t already know Warhammer 40k: Regicide is a turn based strategy game set upon the rules of chess in the Warhammer 40k universe.

Hammerfall_WH40k_Regicide_PreOrder_Shot221

It’s already been released for a couple of months now and so far the game has been left a little quiet. Nothing much has stirred from it other than angry fans of the Warhammer Franchise, and personally I wasn’t too impressed with the game, whilst it does appeal to me greatly there are quite a few flaws from what I can see.

Regicide_Shot_Gameplay_04

Firstly I’d say the that the advertising of the game was very small and it was only a couple of months before release did I actually find it existed leaving it’s target audience a little off guard when hearing it’s release. The trailers that I did eventually find however did look incredibly promising and very entertaining, which leads up to my second point. The trailers full of gameplay footage made the game look a lot more entertaining and fast paced than the game actually was.

Warhammer40K_Regicide_1

Which also leads me to my final point, the pacing of the game. All video games, and even board games need pacing to keep some sort of tension alive, whereas Regicide is just far too slow, even for a chess games. I can watch chess for hours calculating moves and watching games play out, but when it comes to Regicide the game becomes unnecessarily prolonged by simple things like chess pieces taking ages to move places, animations of characters taking of characters spaces, and other needless time wasting.

warhammer-40000-regicide-screen

All in all I will say Regicide for the first couple of hours is a really fun game to play especially if you like both chess and Warhammer 40k, but after a while it will get stale unfortunately. There are definitely many other dissapointing aspects to this game, but to be fair I still had fun with it.

Thanks for reading, and if you have anything to say about Warhammer 40K: Regicide, comment and let us know!

Leave a Reply

